Causing a Stir in Tok, Alaska

Well, I’ve been officially in Tok now for 28 days, and I’ve already caused a stir. And not just locally.

dscn0105Since the Day to Day interview, I’ve heard that my video of me driving to the Tok General Store has been shown on a Chicago news station; then a Kansas TV station just did a Mommy Monday segment about the cold in Tok and showed some of my videos. I’ve spoken to a radio station in Grand Forks, North Dakota, and I slept through a live phone interview with a Toronto station (I still feel bad about that).

Also, as many of you know, NOAA has inquired into the -80 and -71 readings from the Davis weather station at my husband’s office. One of the guys is even coming down to check out the computer data from the station and analyze the positioning of the station monitor later this week. I’ll be sitting down with him over a cup of coffee and will interview him for this blog.

In the meanwhile, just about everyone I meet in Tok has heard about and is now reading this blog (Hi Tokites!). I know some people are probably wondering “why is she getting all this attention – she just moved here!” Well, it wasn’t my intention to draw so much attention so quickly, and it was just an odd confluence of events that started everything rolling.

But I did want to explain the reason I created this blog and the real purpose of the Living in Tok blog – something that may not be clear yet because all of this attention came far before I really got started.

First and foremost, I’m a blogger and love to share my experiences whether it be about social media marketing (Social Media Mama blog) or using the Internet for social causes (Social Media Social Good blog), not to mention my professional blogging gigs such as Entrepreneur Mom on WorkitMom, AK Techgirl at ADN.com and Web Worker Daily.

Second of all, my intention was to use Living in Tok as a promotional tool for the businesses and business owners in the community. I will be interviewing them and posting audio and video podcasts of those interviews as well as snapshots of their business establishments.

I’m not charging anyone for this project. I just know the value of the Internet to rural businesses, and when I come into a new community, I want to share my knowledge and skills in a meaningful way.

So stay tuned for more information about local businesses such as the Tok General Store and Caribou Cabins. As I meet more business owners, I’ll offer them the opportunity to talk about their businesses on this blog.

My hope is come summertime, folks won’t just stop in Tok because it is the first stop after the Canadian border on the Alaska Highway. I hope they’ll stop to spend some time with the folks here and do a lot of business in Tok, Alaska.

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Jan

     /  January 19, 2009

    I know Kellie- the previous resident there in your house. It’s fun to read your thoughts as I’m sure I had some of the same thoughts when I was first in Tok with young children. This media may help keep you sane— we didn’t even have NPR when I was first there….

    Reply
  2. sage

     /  January 19, 2009

    Love your blog! You educate me, make me laugh, and shiver with every update. Although I will probably never get to Alaska I love the glimpse of Alaska I get thru you.
    I freeze in Illinois I think I need a pair of those Bunny Boots. Can’t wait to see what the stores have maybe I could get a pair thru the mail.
    sage

    Reply
  3. Regena Burrow

     /  January 20, 2009

    Hello from TN. I found your website thru Drudge and became intrigued immediately about life in Alaska.
    Stay warm.

    Reply
  4. I enjoy reading your blog each day. I’ve looked up the different businesses in the area too. It is my goal to someday get up to Alaska to visit….of course it will NOT be in the dead of winter. Brrr………..

    Reply
  5. So do we call you the Tok Media Mogul now? Will you now be hosting a Tok’ielly Factor on Fox News 😀

    Love the blog, seriously, I’m hooked.

    Reply
  6. Dean

     /  January 20, 2009

    Hi: I don’t even remember how I ended up on your blog site.. but I subscribed to it and for whatever reason, I enjoy hearing about your experiences in Tok… I’m from Alabama.

    Reply
  7. Henke

     /  January 20, 2009

    I love your blog. Don’t know how I ended up here, but i did… And I’ll definitly come back.

    Greetings from Eskilstuna, Sweden.

    Reply
  8. JJ

     /  January 21, 2009

    Greetings from Pennsylvania. My wife and I stayed in Tok at a bed and breakfast years ago. Great salmon barbeque, nice people, beautiful surroundings. We’re talking about visiting again soon. Thanks for updates and stay warm.

    Reply
  9. Rocksee

     /  January 22, 2009

    Hey there!
    I live in the viewing area of that Kansas TV station.. I picked up reading your blog a few weeks ago, as I am planning a move to Fairbanks in July..

    But I sure thought it was great to see your blog on our TV station.

    It made my momma start reading!

    🙂

    Keep on Bloggin,
    Rocksee From KS, Soon to be AK

    Reply
  10. Dawn Marie Holling

     /  January 28, 2009

    I was so pleased that someone passed your blog on to us. We actually moved from Tok in July of 2007 and really miss it there. We really miss all of the wonderful friendly people there. Tok is truly an awesome and interesting place and something we would not have ever passed up on experiencing. My husband was the OIC at the U.S. Coast Guard Station there in Tok for two years from 2005 to 2007. I will be thrilled to get the updates on your blog periodically. It will help me to feel somewhat attached to Tok still. Great Job!!!! 🙂

    Reply
  11. Jen

     /  March 1, 2009

    I also started reading your blog when it was on the drudge report. I’m from San Diego, a far cry from Tok, Alaska but I enjoy reading about such strange weather as we don’t get that much here. Keep it up!

    Reply
  1. Weekly Link Roundup 2009-01-21 | codegumbo

Leave a comment