A Winter Drive – Tok to Delta Junction

We went for a drive over the weekend. I’m very destination-oriented so instead of just driving for a while to see what we might see, I wanted to try to get to Delta Junction to see what was there. I’ve heard that folks sometimes to to the IGA in Delta Junction (over 2 hours away) for their wider selection of produce and foods.

I have to admit when we walked into the IGA, I felt like a kid in a candy store. My eyes popped open wide when I saw the huge bins of fruits and veggies.”They have mangos!” I thought, even though I actually hate mangos. It just seemed so…modern that they had mangos in their store.

Here are some Alaska beauty shots from the drive.

dscn0028dscn0032dscn0039dscn0047dscn00451

Do you have any beauty shots from your travels around Alaska? Feel free to link to them!

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. That’s awesome. I know the feeling.

    Reply
  2. pk

     /  January 20, 2009

    I love reading about your adventure in Alaska. I found your website from another link (can’t remember where but thinking it was drudgereport) but now I’m addicted. How are your kids adjusting to the coldness? Do they get outside to play much?

    Reply
  3. Roger Dunn

     /  January 20, 2009

    So is North Pole actually a city, or just some sort of marker?

    Reply
  4. Ummm Mangoes…..The things we miss in little ole Tok! Isn’t it amazing how stepping into something as simple as a larger grocery store can just really brighten up your day!? That’s when you know you live in the middle of nowhere!

    Reply
  5. We love following your blog!

    My kids (ages five and eight years) want to want to know if people in Tok have refrigerators and if they eat ice-cream?

    We just had our first snow “storm” (3-5 inches) in 5 years, so Tok seems like a very extreme place for them! (“They really get snow every year?”)

    Reply
  6. Ha! I love the fact that Delta Junction has an IGA! We have always had an IGA in my teeny podunk hometown in IL. It’s fun to see one so far away.

    Reply
  7. Of all my photos of Alaska this remains my favorite:

    That was taken right outside Providence Hospital in Alaska. I was tempted to give the moose a ticket but…aw, he was tired. 🙂

    Reply
  8. Well I don’t know how to post a link to photobucket that will show up…

    Reply
  9. Selena

     /  January 22, 2009

    The main grocery store in Delta has an amazing selection of Russion foods/products! My parents always come back to Fairbanks with jars and jars of delicious unpronounceable stuff…

    Reply
  10. Anthony Starr

     /  January 23, 2009

    Man, I miss it sooo much. Seeing those pictures took me back.

    Sure am glad that moose incident didn’t end up worse. My dad was Chief of Road Maintenance for the Mat-Su borough and there is all kinds of bad things that happen when Moose and cars collide.

    Reply
  11. Broke Down No Biggie

     /  January 24, 2009

    I was driving back from Fairbanks late last night and my fan belt broke on the truck at Shaw Creek on the Alcan Hwy, around 30 miles out of Delta. It’s one of those 50 foot-long kinds that runs everything on the vehicle, so things got pretty interesting real quick: no brakes, no power steering, no alternator, and no water pump/fan to cool the engine. Only good thing was that it was -12F and blowing 50, so I turned the lights off to save the battery and limped it into Delta in the dark. I called the only person I knew in Delta, the town doctor, and he said, “no problem; come on over, leave it in the garage, and take my truck, return it whenever…”. So, I had a nice visit, then headed home to Tok, no worries. Lesson: bring your arctic gear, and bunny boots, and make friends along the way: you never know when you’re gonna need ’em!

    Reply
  12. Beautiful … Thanks for reminding me of home!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

