Went to a Tea Party in Tok!

And what did I find? A lot of nice, decent, hardworking people who are unhappy with the state of things, namely the current administration and Congress. I took some pics (below) and also interviewed several people there and will upload audio as soon as I can.

Tok Alaska Tea Party

Tok Alaska Tea Party

Sign at Tok Alaska Tea Party

attending the Tea Party

Fair Tax

My patients

My patients

Tea Party Tok

Tea Party Tok

Were you there today? What did you think?

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. wendy

     /  April 16, 2010

    You ask what do I think, I think I will not be spending my money this summer in Tok. Our family has not been affected by the economic downturn, we have plenty to spend and love to spend our summers outside of Anchorage, I think Homer this year, your people look mean.

    Reply
    • Wendy, That was a mean thing to say. I’m sorry you feel that way.

      Reply
    • Thomas Paine

       /  April 17, 2010

      Wendy, the people you refer to are not mean. They represent an increasing number of Americans who are not content with the direction this country is heading and are constructively engaging in making their voices heard, a concept on which this country was founded. Take your bourgeois money and spend it somewhere else; we don’t need it.

      Reply
  2. I completely agree! I think the government should be held accountable to the people, and everyone who pays taxes should get the amount of benefits out of the government commensurate with the amount of taxes they pay! Stop sending our tax dollars away to distant places when I need them spent right here for things I need!

    Reply
  3. Little Bird

     /  April 17, 2010

    Looks like a lively event. So Aliza, are you also “unhappy with the state of things, namely the current administration and Congress” and going to join the Tok Alaska Tea Party?

    Reply
  4. Little Bird – I’m a reporter. I love reporting on things. I also like discovering a variety of points of views. My duty is to explore and share.

    Reply
  5. Kate Sweet

     /  April 23, 2010

    I don’t get it. What tyranny? Why is it tyranny for poor people to have a chance to go to the doctor?
    Why is it nobody complained so much when Bush spent billions of tax dollars on starting endless wars that basically support and expand the wealth of American corporate elite who do little to share their wealth with regular people.

    Reply
  6. Anonymous Tokite

     /  April 24, 2010

    Wendy, I’m so very sorry that Aliza has not reported on the many good people and events that we also have in Tok, like our annual Cranberry Festival, which raises money for our local Foodbank and was attended by at least 1o times more people! It’s really sad to see our whole community mis-represented by this small bunch of whiners.
    By the way, Kate, many of us Tokites don’t get it either — we don’t even pay taxes in Tok! However, every single one of us does drive on the roads, which are maintained both directly and indirectly with Federal funds, and although none of those people pay property or state taxes, I’m sure that every single one of them has collected their Permanent Dividend Fund!

    Reply
    • Hi Michelle and thanks for weighing in. I do report on many good people and good events in Tok – guess you aren’t reading my blog very often. 😉 But as a reporter, I also believe in covering a variety of news and information, not just what some would consider “good.” If you take a moment to listen to the words of Tokites in the audio slideshow on this blog, you will hear good people making good points about representation by our government. Just because people were serious in the photos (they were listening to the speakers, not eating cranberry jam) doesn’t mean they are “mean” or “bad.”

      Reply
  7. Michelle

     /  April 26, 2010

    Just to be very clear, I never said anyone was “mean” or “bad”, and I certainly never would say such a thing! And as far as eating cranberry jam goes, I would like to point out, again, that it supports our local Food Bank, which does a lot of good in this community without receiving or using one penny from tax revenues. How about some audio and video footage from the Tok Trot or the Headstart spaghetti feed and cakewalk, which you did mention.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

