Long Shadows

IMG_3163I walk outside when I see the sun shining now, and the shadows are long. Long shadows foreshadow the quick descent of winter. We’re on the downward slide into darkness. And I’m not feeling very good about it.

Long shadows make me woeful and anxious. Long shadows haunt me.

Looks like I should figure out where my full spectrum light box is to make sure I have quick and easy access to it once the dark descends. I’m bracing myself for the disappearance of light.

How do you prepare for and deal with the darkness?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Kay

     /  August 19, 2009

    “But What If The Sun Doesn’t Come Back?” ask two ducks in a reddish sunset over dark mountains — Winifred Gallagher’s “The Power of Place” explained most of my agony & pain over “the darkness” but dealing with it is likely like dealing with addiction–the physicalness and the one-day-at-a-timeness. I’ve re-thought how to deal with home lights, a sunset alarm, the fact that I need SAD light in the evening, and how to stay social. Now to see if any of it will work.

    Reply
  2. Rob

     /  August 19, 2009

    My wife has been using a SAD lightbox for years.
    Me? I have not lived well north, so it is “apples and oranges”, but I am not much of a fan of bright sunlight.

    Reply
  3. I have full spectrum bulbs in all my art lights and make sure I get outside every day to catch what ever light is available. Mentally: remind myself that Dec. 21 is the ‘worst’ of it.

    Reply
  4. Julie in Alaska

     /  August 20, 2009

    I have used a full spectrum light (on a visor, not a box) every a.m. since I moved here and it does help me get up and going. I boosted it with more Vit. D during the winter months. I manage to do okay and stay productive with this approach. But I am also dreading the darkness and keep trying to enjoy every day and watching all the changes. I vow to get out on my new skis more this winter (Cross-country) and observe nature more closely than in winters past. By the way, everyone I am talking with is in the same boat!

    Reply
  5. Paula

     /  August 20, 2009

    I am a permanent Texas resident with family in Anchorage. We visit there frequently. I am convinced Texas weather is just as difficult to deal with as Alaska weather…trading your cold for our heat. I dread the approach of summer and look forward to the long days of fall and the cool wet winter. We don’t have the vitD isues but being stuck in the house during 100 degree plus days is depressing enough.

    Reply
  6. be sure and get your daily mega dose of vitamin D(3). 5000IU is prolly a good idea.

    Reply
  7. I am planning on moving from TX to AK within a 6 month to year ratio. I know nothing about the state and want to learn all I can. I will correspond with anyone who can and likes to answer questions about AK. I am not a city girl as I was raised in cold areas and am a farmer by heart. Please correspond with me so I can learn more.

    Reply
  8. Vitamin D, Vitamin D, Vitamin D. Optimal levels are 50-65. D3 is best!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

