Save the Peas!

The 30 degree F weather is here, and the pea vines are drooping. We’ve been running outside the last few days to grab the last of the pea bounty, pull some carrots, coddle the tomatos and squash in the greenhouse, and we did a mega-rhubarb run to the tune of 40 quarts, chopped and now frozen. For my first official summer doing a vegetable garden (I don’t count the year I was pregnant or first year post partum in Anchorage – total blurs), I think we’ve done pretty well. Even despite the chickweed invasion.

Here are some recent snapshots of our harvest.

IMG_3157

IMG_3155

IMG_3152

IMG_3135

IMG_3142

How is your garden doing?

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Albert Lewis

     /  August 11, 2009

    That rhubarb is going to taste fine mid-winter! Your garden’s doing better than mine and I’ve got a much longer growing season here in Massachusetts.

    Reply
  2. Bobi

     /  August 12, 2009

    Wow, it is even hard for me to comprehend 30 degrees already! If you have extra, please bring some of that rhubarb to Anchorage (Yum!).

    Reply
  3. I have soooo much of it – will definitely bring some along!

    Reply
  4. Julie in Alaska

     /  August 13, 2009

    I got a late start on my garden in Soldotna and my peas are still in bloom. Might soon be time to cover with plastic? I am still a newbie! Very impressive rhubarb. We have two pieces left our our rhubarb pie. Surely the highest calling for the stuff (but not the only…)

    Reply
  5. My garden is so saaaad! Just saw two tiny watermelon buds and there is one baby squash. Several cukes, english longs, but they are growing all curled up! As for the purple pea pods, those were sacrificed to the chickens…sigh.

    Next year will be better, I’ll get an earlier start.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

