Wildflowers in Tok

I’ve been taking photos of wildflowers as we’ve walked or biked around Tok. Lucky for me, I also have a husband who can name wildflowers in his sleep – it’s like having a walking, talking flora encyclopedia with me at all times.

Here are just a few flowers we’ve seen:

IMG_0103Wild Rose

IMG_0104Lupine

IMG_0131White Milk Vetch

IMG_0134Jacob’s Ladder with an ALASKA dandelion

IMG_0148Jacob’s Ladder

IMG_0140Wild Pea

IMG_0149Bluebells

Have any photos of Alaska wildflowers that you’ve taken? Share links to them here!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. How do you tell the difference between Jacob’s Ladder and Forget-Me-Not? I probably would have said those were Forget-Me-Not if I’d happened on them myself.

    Reply
  2. I thought the same thing but he said “the leaves.” Still, we could be right! I’ll investigate. hahaha

    Reply
  3. Marla

     /  June 24, 2009

    I’m envious! I always have to pore through my wildlfower ID book! Beautiful!

    Reply
  4. Thank you so much for naming the wildflowers. I have been taking photos the last 2 weeks near Elutna. Didn’t know the names of the flowers. I have lots of photos of wildflowers to share but didn’t find your link to click on. Send me your link if you would like to see and use them.

    Dianne

    Reply
  5. If you have them online, just add a link here in the comments section and we can all click over and see them! If you need help hosting them online, let me know at my email address (listed top right of this page) and I can work with you on getting them online. Thanks!

    Reply
  6. Here is a link to Jacob’s Ladder on Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Polemonium

    and here is a link to Forget Me Nots
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Forget_me_not

    I don’t know about you but I’m thinking the photos I took are Forget Me Nots which makes sense given the area. Will have my wildlife biologist hubby check out more closely and give his definitive opinion. 😉

    But I do agree with him based on other photos I’ve seen that the leaves are different (hard to tell in these Wikipedia photos).

    Reply
  7. m

     /  June 25, 2009

    If you took the photos along the roadside than they are definitely jacob’s ladder. the forget me nots are typically seen in higher elevations than in good ole Tok. i have a great book written by Verna Pratt which is awesome (Wildflowers along the Alaska Highway) see also:
    http://www.turtlepuddle.org/alaskan/wild/flowers-2.html

    Reply
  8. Here is the link to my new wildflower photos. There is one blue flower on the page that I don’t know the name of.

    http://www.artworldplus.com/Alaska_Wildflowers.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

