Road Trip! Fairbanks

We drove to Fairbanks this past Sunday to go to a show (Cherish the Ladies at the Hering Auditorium). What I saw of the show was fantastic, however, I saw less than half of the show. We had our toddler in tow.

Try as I did to find a babysitter in Fairbanks via Twitter, Facebook and email, we got close but just didn’t have enough advance notice to arrange something. So our romantic date night after a four hour drive turned into a frantic example of why parents of toddlers do not go out in public – at least not while their toddlers are toddlers.

We also had reservations for Lavelle’s. We weren’t sure we wanted to risk it, but I ran into the restaurant to check it out.

“We have a reservation. Our babysitter fell through. We have our toddler with us. Is there an out of the way place you can put us?” I said between gasps for breath.

“Sure!” the waitress said with a smile, and that’s what they did.

The food was really terrific and the atmosphere was wonderful. A great recommendation from my PRSA gal pals in Anchorage and Fairbanks.

We stayed at the Wedgewood Resort which, for the price ($95) was freaking amazing – like a 2 bedroom apartment with all the extras including dishes, pots, pans and silverware in the kitchen. The look was very 1980s dorm room but with all that space, we didn’t care one bit.

Pics from the road below.

img_0681

The Alaska Pipeline – first time I’ve seen it up close.

img_0685

img_0692

Ice sculptures were everywhere in town including this bear.

img_0726

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Sarah

     /  February 26, 2009

    My family moved recently to Minnesota and are feeling a bit homesick for Fairbanks. Thanks for the fantastic photos. I think you did a great job of capturing the light.

    Reply
  2. I’ve got some family/church friends there that should be able to tap a pool of babysitters next time you’re up.

    drop me a line. I’ll dig up some contact info.

    Reply
  3. heather

     /  February 27, 2009

    The next time you’re in Fairbanks, you should go see the pipeline REALLY up close – it’s an amazing thing to see. I really had no interest in looking at it, it’s just a big pipe, right? But I was with friends who thought it would be cool and it really was!! I can’t remember exactly where it is, but it wasn’t hard to find. I so look forward to reading your blog – I lived in Anchorage for a year and am extremely homesick for all things Alaska, and I love to hear about it from your perspective as you are discovering everything. I will be in Alaska again this summer for a couple of weeks and am beside myself with excitement! If I could talk my husband into it, I’d move back in a heartbeat!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Visit Our New Tok Blog!

    The new Tok Blog is at http://livingintok.com
  • Get Tok in Your InBox

  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Go to our New Blog!

    Remember: the new Tok Blog is at http://livingintok.com
