Yes, I’m moving to Tok, Alaska


I’ve been in Anchorage, Alaska for 3 years now.

Just last week, my husband told me we are moving to Tok, Alaska.

He was offered a great job for his field: wildlife biology.

I’m lucky because my work is totally portable: Internet and writing. Otherwise, I’m not sure what kind of job opportunities there would be for someone like me.

The big challenge will be finding reliable, regular childcare for our 2-year-old. I need to be able to work at least 6 hours a day straight. Maybe we’ll go back to having someone come to our home to play with her and care for her while I’m working. That worked out for her first year. I’m just sorry to have to take her out of her current daycare because she really thrives there and has made friends.

Just one of the things we’ll have to work out as we move to a new place. It just might be a little more challenging in a town of less than 2000 people. I don’t want to even think about leaving my friends here in Anchorage and trying to make new ones in Tok. I don’t know what I’m going to do.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Aliens In Tok

     /  January 10, 2009

    Many people become residents of Tok by default. Ask anybody who’s been here for a while, and the initial reasons may vary, but what we all eventually come to realise is that,
    1) We are all crazy; or
    2) We actually like it here.
    Top reasons people move to Tok:
    1) vehicle broke down and they had no money to
    leave.
    2) Hitchiking through and got stuck here.
    3) No property taxes.
    4) They “felt better” off of their psychotropic
    meds, and Tok people either didn’t notice, or
    they fit in better that way.
    5) They got a government job here (rare).
    I have come to realise that people who don’t live in Tok are envious of us folks who do, as evidenced by comments like, “Why would anyone want to live in TOK???”. Pure envy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Visit Our New Tok Blog!

    The new Tok Blog is at http://livingintok.com
  • Get Tok in Your InBox

  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Go to our New Blog!

    Remember: the new Tok Blog is at http://livingintok.com
