Interview: Musician, artist, writer Vanessa Boyd in Tok Sunday

I got an email from NYC-based singer/songwriter Vanessa Boyd who found this blog and got in touch to ask about opportunities to perform in Tok. She – like several other talented musicians including Marian Call and Britt Arnessen – are amenable to doing House Concerts where people literally host them at their homes and invite friends and people in the community.

Vanessa will be performing THIS SUNDAY June 27 from 7pm-9pm at the corner of West Willow and West C Street (on West C) across from Coast Guard housing. Just follow the music or look for the balloons!

This is an all-ages event (FAMILY FRIENDLY song set), we’ll have a fire pit going, and I have a bunch of rhubarb ready to cut if you’re in need. Also any artist who would like to show or sell their wares – let me know. I’ll have tables set up to display.

Here’s a brief interview with her that we did via email.

1. How would you describe your music to someone who isn’t familiar with your work?

IN TERMS OF THIS SET, AGNOSTIC ELECTRIC GOSPEL, MY MELODIES TEND TO REFLECT MY SOUTHERN ROOTS, GOSPEL AND AMERICANA. THE MUSIC IS BASED MORE ON MY TRAVELS, ESPECIALLY THE GNOUA, SUFI AND CHANTING OF DIFFERENT SPIRITUAL TRANCE MOVEMENTS IN MOROCCO, SPAIN, FRANCE, ETC. I BELIEVE IN THE SUBJECTIVITY OF THE WRITER, THAT WE ALL SPEAK FROM EXPERIENCE.

2. What instruments do you play and which is your favorite?

SINCE I’VE BEEN WRITING MUSIC, I HAVE SPENT THE MOST TIME WITH THE GUITAR, BOTH ACOUSTIC AND NOW ELECTRIC. I ALSO PLAY THE BARITONE UKELELE, SYNTHESIZER, AND THE MOROCCAN HAJHUJ. EACH INSTRUMENT TENDS TO BRING OUT DIFFERENT EMOTIONAL BASES.

3. Who inspires you musically?

IN THE LAST SEVERAL YEARS, I WOULD HAVE TO SAY THE BIGGEST INFLUENCES HAVE BEEN FUSION ARTISTS JUANA MOLINA AND MAJID BEKKHAS.

4. You are also an artist and describe your work as “reactionary art and art appropriation” – can you define what that means?

MY VISUAL ART FOCUSES ON MY REACTION TO DOMINATOR CULTURE AND IS OFTEN FEMINIST. WHEN I MOVED TO NEW YORK I STARTED WORKING IN MIXED MEDIA AND REALLY FELL FOR ART THAT USES NON-TRADITIONAL MATERIALS OR CONTEXTS.

4. And you’re a writer. What do you like to write about and why?

MY PUBLISHED WORK HAS MOSTLY BEEN FOR NEWSPAPERS AND MAGAZINES, ALTHOUGH I’VE ALSO PUBLISHED POETRY ON OCCASION. I LIKE RECOGNIZING GOOD WORK BY GOOD PEOPLE.

5. Which came first – Writing, Art or Music? When and what did you first create?

I DON’T REALLY SEE A SEPARATION BETWEEN WRITING, ART OR MUSIC. THEY’RE JUST DIFFERENT MEDIUMS FOR A MESSAGE. I’D DONE ALL OF THEM SINCE CHILDHOOD, BUT THE MUSIC BECAME A STRONG PASSION THAT GUIDED MY DECISIONS AS AN ADULT.

6. What is V2K Experience?

V2K IS THE NAME OF MY COMPANY, AND IT’S A PLATFORM FOR EXPANDING THE WAYS I WORK IN THE ARTS. EXPERIENCE IS A RESUME OF SORTS, A RUN DOWN OF WHAT I’VE DONE IN THE PROFESSIONAL WORLD IN CORPORATE AND MEDIA FIELDS.

Enjoy some artsy and eclectic sounds from the very talented Vanessa Boyd THIS SUNDAY June 27 from 7pm-9pm at the corner of West Willow and West C Street (on West C) across from Coast Guard housing.

And stay tuned for the date & time of Britt Arnessen’s House Concert.


Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Thanks for the info! It is posted on the AWN FaceBook page.

    Reply

Leave a comment